Carol Jantsch Carol Jantsch Carol Jantsch

Marsalis’s Tuba Concerto

Dec 09, 2021, 7:30 PM
Dec 10, 2021, 8:00 PM
Dec 12, 2021, 2:00 PM

Performance Details

Verizon Hall

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Conductor
Carol Jantsch Tuba

Marsalis Tuba Concerto (world premiere—Philadelphia Orchestra co-commission)
Brahms Symphony No. 1

Wynton Marsalis’s newly minted Tuba Concerto is given its world premiere on
the Philadelphia Orchestra stage. Principal Tuba Carol Jantsch will be the first to perform this brilliant pairing of classical and jazz in Marsalis’s inimitable style. More than a century before, Brahms spent 23 years struggling with the pressure to write a symphony. When his long-awaited Symphony No. 1 finally premiered in 1876, a friend and critic noted, “Seldom, if ever, has the entire musical world awaited a composer’s first symphony with such tense anticipation … [but audiences] will immediately recognize it as one of the most distinctive and magnificent works of the symphonic literature.”

Verizon Hall